Tuesday-May 21, 2013

Weather was sunny and warm today, 85ish.  We had thunderstorms last night, but nothing damaging.  My plants are loving the sun with rain every couple of days.

I can’t remember if I mentioned that I planted peas on Sunday.  I don’t feel like going back and checking right now.  Today I planted two tomato plants.  They are from my first batch of seed sowing before I had my greenhouse.  They are the only two that survived and they are doing really well, but I forgot to open the doors or vents in the greenhouse today and everything got over heated and very wilty so I planted them in the garden today.

Again, the onions are rockin’!  Even the ones I planted from seeds are growing.  I also have lettuce and spinach coming up.  I can’t really tell how the sweet potatoes are doing because some of them lost their leaves, but the stems are standing tall.  The instructions said that they are very hardy and will grow so I’m talking to them and encouraging them every day.

On the flower front, the columbine and salvia are blooming and adding color to my beds right now.  As of today, I have Irises blooming also, just some that are mauve and magenta colored.  I’m still waiting for the purple and yellow ones and my favorite, the giant peach colored ones.

I discovered what my stray bulbs that grew hair were.  They were not crocuses, they get white flowers with 5 pointy petals.  I believe they are called Star of Israel.  I think I wrote about them on my other blog.  Yep, here’s the link.  My Market Day page is all about gardening if you want to check it out.  I need to get some pictures of the flowers that are blooming now and post them.

My rhododendron is starting to bloom also.  It ALWAYS blooms the week after Memorial Day.  It looks like it will be a little early this year.  People who come over Memorial Day weekend this year will actually get to see them this year.  Yay!

Thanks for stopping by!

GardengirlGardengirl

2 Responses

  1. thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

