Sunday- May 26, 2013

Oops, guess I missed Friday, but since I didn’t do anything outside, I didn’t really miss anything.  I found it when I went to publish this one so my days are just a little mixed up instead of missing.

Today’s weather is starting out sunny.  Temp at 6:30 was 44

I think I’ll plant some of my vegetables today, hopefully get my beds filled.  I hope they do ok with they chilly nights.

I was thinking about my herbs and some of my other plants that I started from seed that didn’t make it.  I think I discovered the reason why, but it’s a theory that will have to be tested.  After I got the big greenhouse, I stopped using the mini greenhouses.  That was a mistake because they kept the moisture in the soil for the little seeds and seedlings.  The heat from the big greenhouse was too much for them and they burned up without the added protection.  I’ll find out if this is true when I reseed.  This time, the lids go on and stay on until they are a good size.

Unfortunately, however, I will have to purchase most of my herbs again this year if I want to have any sort of a harvest.  This is how I learn though, so it is a lesson learned for me.  I can say that I learned something new today and it’s not even 8:00 in the morning yet.

So much for my big plans.  By the time I got back from the church the hubby wanted to go for lunch and to Bass Pro Shop.  It’s almost an hour from our house plus eating time and a few more stops and it was dinner time by the time we got home.  No gardening for me today.

Leave a Reply

